UK Security Commonwealth boosted by the appointment of three new Board Directors

July 7, 2023


UK Security Commonwealth confirms the appointment of three new Board Directors.

Following the recommendation of the current Board Members, three new Board Directors were confirmed at the recent committee meeting of the UK Security Commonwealth.

They are Darren Carter CPP, Nicholas Reed FSyI F.ISRM S.IIRSM SRMP-C CBCI TechIOSH and Claire Humble MlntlSy MSyl CPOI: in recent months, both David Ward and Houdah Al-Hakim have stepped down from their Board roles.

UK Security Commonwealth: More on the new additions

Darren Carter, who has been involved with Security Commonwealth since it was formed in 2015, said: “it is a privilege to have recently joined the Board and I do so with the full intent of helping to drive the ambitions of all those who readily commit their time and energy into the organisation. 

UK Security Commonwealth - Darren Carter
Darren Carter CPP – UK Security Commonwealth

“Bringing together the many organisations who lead our industry, under a unified working group is by no means any easy task.  That said, strength is found with common understanding and shared values, I’m grateful for the opportunity and very much look forward to making a positive contribution to the team.”

UK Security Commonwealth - Nicholas Reed
Nicholas Reed FSyI F.ISRM S.IIRSM SRMP-C CBCI TechIOSH – UK Security Commonwealth

Nicholas Reed added: “My intention is to support SyCom in fulfilling its mandate as the uniting, umbrella body bringing together the common interests of the numerous associations in the UK security sector and acting as a conduit for inter-organisational communication and coordination in promoting the member body interests and propagating industry supportive initiatives – together we can achieve so much more.”

UK Security Commonwealth - Claire Humble
Claire Humble MlntlSy MSyl CPOI – UK Security Commonwealth

Talking about her appointment, Claire Humble said she wanted to join the SyCom Board to help challenge the norms, positively influence change and champion new ways of working on behalf of the security sector and the wider community.

Reed, who will be assisting Dave Cooke CPP with the Secretariat duties said: “I am privileged and honoured to have been both accepted onto the Board of the UK Security Commonwealth and to take up a role supporting the Secretariat of the organisation.”

Welcoming Cater, Reed and Humble to the Board, UK Security Commonwealth Chair, Jayne King FSyI, ASMS said she “knows that their drive and enthusiasm will help guide Sycom in the months and years ahead”.  They will be joining existing Board members of Jayne King, Joe Connell MBE, Guy Mathias, Graham Bassett, Dave Cooke, Oliver Curran, and Mike Hurst.

King also announced that this year’s David Clark Award for Exceptional Contribution to the UK Security Sector, will be presented on 1 November 1at an event hosted by the International Foundation for Protection Officers UK (IFPO) and that nominations are now open.

More UK Security News.

Read Next

Security Journal UK

Subscribe Now

£99.99 for each year
No payment items has been selected yet